Carndonagh Business & Community Awards

Carndonagh Business & Community Awards

This May we held our first Carndonagh Business & Community Awards Gala hosted at the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa.  The awards are a celebration of all the businesses and their employees, charity and community groups and their volunteers who give their time freely to make Carndonagh a fantastic place to work, rest & play. The evening was compered by Mr. Jimmy Stafford (Highland Radio), with entertainment provided by the fabulous Ryan Turner Band.

In the months leading up to the awards gala the public were asked to participate in an online vote to pick their winners in seven categories. The winners of the Carndonagh Business & Community Awards 2023 are:

  • Sport Club of the Year – CLG Charn Domhnaigh
  • Volunteer of the Year – The late Josie Diver
  • Employee of the Year – Gary McKeague (Mark 2 Menswear)
  • Charity/Community Group of the Year – Carndonagh Christmas Tree Committee
  • Eatery of the Year – Diamond Café
  • Service Provider of the Year – The Village Kitchen
  • Retailer of the Year – Mark 2 Menswear
  • Pub of the Year – Sportsman’s Inn



Event Sponsors


Philip McLaughlin, CLG Charn Domhnaigh collects the Sports Club of the Year Award, sponsored by Express Food Service from Davin Doherty.  Included are Helen Nolan, Mark Nolan and Liam McLaughlin. Photo Clive Wasson.

Tina O’Donnell presents the Volunteer of the Year Award sponsored by Lansdowne Hotel to Margaret Diver and Anne Diver collecting for the late Josie Diver.  Photo Clive Wasson.

Deridre McGowan, AIB, Award Sponsor presents Garry McKeague, Mark 2 Menswear with the Employee of the Year Award. Photo Clive Wasson.

Grainne Gillen presenting Inishowen Credit Union, Award Sponsor to Sally Kelly, Carndonagh Christmas Tree Committee with The Charity / Community Group of the Year Award. Back from left are Eddie Doherty, Philip McLaughlin, Sean Tully, Oliver McLaughlin and Brian Sharkey. Photo Clive Wasson.

Davin Doherty, presents the Buncrana Bottling sponsored Eatery of the Year Award to the Diamond Café from left are Donna Hegarty, Tanya McLaughlin, Anne McLaughlin and Kieva McLaughlin. Photo Clive Wasson.

Rosin Doherty presents the Service Provider of the Year Award, sponsored by Inishowen Food Solutions to Shane Burns and Edel Burns, The Village Kitchen. Photo Clive Wasson.

Bryan McCandless, Mark 2 Menswear collects the Retailer of the Year Award sponsored by Bank of Ireland from Louise McDermott, Bank of Ireland also included from left are Gary McKeague, Ciara McCloskey and Carol-Anne Wilson. Photo Clive Wasson.

Sharon McDaid presents Pub of the Year, sponsored by Neal Doherty’s Jewellery, Home & Giftware, to the Sportsman’s Inn. Photo Clive Wasson.